…And we’re back!

20130626-082816.jpg

20130626-090122.jpg

20130626-090135.jpg

20130626-090143.jpg

20130626-090153.jpg

20130626-090201.jpg

20130626-090208.jpg

20130626-090224.jpg

Guys I’ve never felt so alive in my entire life!
Oh and hi…how are you? It’s been awhile…two weeks too long I’ve been running around this city, this country, and America! I’ll try my best to recap all the events and work that has happened over the last little while so bare with me because this post maybe a long one so ill try and keep it interesting.
First up, I did wardrobe for Taylor Swift when she was in Toronto and I have to say even though I’m not a fan of her music that lady is a sweetheart! I dressed her dancers during the show while organizing racks of costumes with some really fun people.
My boss Marie-Eve was off on a much needed vacation and left me in charge of a four commercial spot which was daunting and exciting at the same time. I learned so much from everyone around me and being on set was extremely rewarding…I still don’t understand how I get paid for having so much fun, it’s hard hard work, emotionally and physically, but it feeds my soul. I know that this is what I was meant to do, I get goosebumps more and more.
Last Thursday I woke up at 3am because I couldn’t sleep at all, sometimes the realization that I’m still on my mums couch is frustrating and it keeps me up thinking. Sometimes I cry…a lot but I know it’s just a matter of time before everything changes for the better again. Ill be able to have my dog more then just a night, ill be able to stretch my legs out, and ill have known that I did it and I never gave up on myself.
Anyway so last Thursday I went to the commercial shoot for our 6am call time and dressed some lovely actors in the wardrobe Marie Eve and I worked so hard to put together, it was amazing seeing it all come together on film. I worked until noon until my phone chimed that three of my best girlfriends were awaiting in a SUV to whisk me off to the states for a 4 day road trip to a music festival in Dover, Delaware…yup Delaware.
We crossed the boarder no problem and thought we were doing great until the inevitable happened…bitches got lost. After checking three different kinds of maps we finally got back on the road and headed across Pensilvania, there was a lot of laughing until we realized how far behind we were. We ended up at a Target in Scranton and bought bikini tops and other useless items that our tired brains thought were necessary. We spent about 30 minutes sitting in a parking lot drinking red bull and farting…then back in the car to deal with a caffeine overdose and the realization that we were only going to sleep for 2 hours once we reached our hotel just outside the festival.
But wait more was in store for us, once we got to the hotel after driving for 12 hours my friend Shaina realized that the hotel room was accidentally booked three days ahead of the date we needed it. After scaring the shit out of the front desk man and having a short mental break down we decided that drinking the only bottle of wine we had in the car at 4am was the best option. We then drove to a near by diner and ate grilled cheese until it was time to get our car in line for our festival camp site. Shaina now not giving any fucks cut in front of a bunch of cars and we ended up being 10th in line.
We got our two campsites side by side and started to set up what we called Shanty Town, it was hilarious. Our canopy was built with safety pins and duck tape, decorated with shitty streamers and solar lights that barely worked. The tent was just a giant room with two air mattresses that we periodically would pass out in until the sun got too hot to handle.
I want to now describe each one of our “moments” on this trip, I mean the music was amazing, the bands were incredible, we met the nicest people, Jesse and Johnny Walker ( you two made our last night so wonderful and fun) but what really made this trip was the four of us trying to navigate our hangovers and events during the days and nights.
Shaina’s moment was when we were leaving on the last day, she was covered in face paint and still wasted. Our car had no gas and no power which thankfully was brought back to life by some guys Shaina had met while streaking around the camp grounds, she usually brought all the boys to our yard. She also mangled her body a number of times, one being pulling her shoulder out trying to help me put the canopy up.
Meghan’s moment was again on the last day when she couldn’t figure out how to open the gas canister. It was 36 degrees out and she had to manage all the craziness because let’s face it, the rest of us were pathetically useless. I think at one point she walked away for a breather until catching the horrible smell from the porter potties down the road.
Kate…well Kate had a bunch of moments but the best was one morning when we went and got breakfast sandwiches and headed back to the campsite. We were all sitting around eating and laughing when all of a sudden a piece of sandwich she was trying to put in her mouth just ejected from between her lips. Then she (for some reason) thought about how badly she had to poop and made herself gag that was followed by a burp. Then she tried to drink some PediaLite to try and calm the hangover which made her eject that all over the side of our camp blanket. And I will never forget the look on my dearest friends face after these events, dripping with liquid in crooked sunglasses and smelling like a bag of dicks, naturally I grabbed my disposable camera and snapped the moment. Oh and on the last day I slammed the car door on her arm and I seriously thought she was going to punch me in the throat…I’ve never in the 12 years I’ve known her seen her that angry, luckily we all know how to let things go and make the best of it even if it seems impossible.
My moment…well it wasn’t dramatic by any means, it was when we found out we were not sleeping in a comfy hotel bed. I had been up for 28 hours at this point and was about to spontaneously combust with tiredness. I got really really quiet, everyone else got in the car and I stayed outside, lit a smoke and leaned on the back tire of the SUV to think. I thought I had lost my mind, I got up took a big breath and notice that the trailer beside us had a case of bottled water taped down. I ripped the bag open grabbed a bottle and marched over to a BMW and drew a massive cock on their back window. For some reason that made me feel better, I got back in the car and was met by Meghan wearing jewelled sunglasses brandishing a bottle of red wine.
That was Firefly…in a nutshell.
Yesterday I was straight back to work on a film called The Double Date where I met more amazing people and got to create a really great story. I pushed myself through the day and made sure I was as professional as I could be to make the film, the clothing shine through the characters. My friend Thomas Dagg was the DP and brought me on, it was a fantastic crew and I made a lot of new contacts and friends. This is again why I love my work, it’s filled with amazing creative people who work just as hard to do what they want to do.

So there you have it folks, the short story for sure but honestly the last two weeks have blown my mind. The main reason is because of all the AMAZING people I have met, worked with, bonded with, created with, and laughed with. I always admire people who are selfless, kind, generous, creative and wear their heart and soul on their sleeves. Those are the people that I keep in my life and I have no time or effort to chase down or spend emotion on people that are selfish, competitive, flakey, mean, and don’t take people’s hearts seriously. The people that are meant to be in your life will easily fall into it, the people that aren’t will feel like a constant struggle and effort, so let those people go, as hard as it is, it’s not worth pulling out with heart strings for.

I’m so happy I’m back to blogging, I missed it and I missed sharing with all you beautiful amazing people that read it.

Happy happy Wednesday Loves!!!

– Casey Jane

Tunes for this post

Ellie Goulding – Anything Could Happen
The Lumineers – Ho Hey
Anthony De Costa – Across the Country
Haim – Forever
Selah Sue – Raggamuffin

4 thoughts on “…And we’re back!

  1. Your blog is spectacular. Vernacular impeccable. You are on the cusp and will find yourself in a warm bed of your own. I am glad that you didn’t spontaneously combust with tiredness and still kickin it hard. XjEsSe

  2. Loving your hat in pictures 1 & 4 – where from? I’m currently in the market for a good, trusty hat. Hats are tough. Also, which music festival did you attend? We’ll be traveling with the Vans Warped Tour starting July 3, and we couldn’t be more excited!

Leave a Reply

